Old School Computer Desk

Here are a series of pictures of my computer desk. I wanted a powerful PC for video editing. I wanted to do the editing of an evening and didn’t want to sit alone in my study doing it. My wife told me that she wouldn’t like to have a desktop PC in the living room so I convinced her that I could disguise it as furniture. This is the result.

I made sure everything would fit on paper but when I assembled it the internal clearances were even closer, just 1 mm breathing space in places. I put a cardboard replica of the screen in initially to avoid cracking the panel. I left an iPhone videoing inside as I closed the lid to see if it would close safely.

I would have liked the keyboard shelf to pop up but at present I lift the shelf into place. The wooden components of the desk were made to my plans by the fantastic furniture maker/restorer of Shrewsbury, John Hammond.

The panel was cut out by CNC and I sprayed it up with auto paint. I bonded a mesh in but might have to add an acrylic sneeze guard so I don’t blow it up next time I get a cold.  I decided not to include DVD drives or card readers as I wanted to keep it clean and I have USB versions I can plug in as needed.

The hardware includes an AMD Phenom II 965 Black Edition, MSI 790GX-G65 mobo, 16 GB DDR3 1333MHz, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD, Western Digital 512GB 7200rpm HHD, Zalman Heatpipe Super Flower CPU Cooler, Corsair VX550 PSU and a Viewsonic VX2260WM Monitor (and a genuine stoneware inkwell from the 1800’s!)

I’m really happy with how it has turned out. I’ll be able to retrofit the hardware as it gets older so the desk should serve for many years.

I’ve had a few offers to buy it but this one is for me!! If you fancy making yourself one though, feel free to get in touch for advice.

Ant

About AntSaysThis

Hi, I'm Ant. Muddling through but enjoying it all regardless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

